Art association

Tarpon Art Association names the winners of the 2021 competition | News

TARPON SPRINGS – The Tarpon Springs Art Association hosted the awards ceremony for its 2021 Painting and Photo Contest winners at the Tarpon Springs Cultural Center on Friday, October 15. The outdoor, or outdoor, event took place from October 11 to 15. , with artists and photographers from across the state and nation working onsite to capture the scenic beauty of Tarpon Springs.

In addition to honoring winners in categories such as photography, rapid drawing, painting, and audience choice, the TSAA honored three artists with special commemorative awards: Petera Semple, an acrylic artist who painted wildlife and Florida Culture and co-founded TSAA; Lee Albion, an internationally renowned watercolorist who was a longtime TSAA member; and Sue Thomas, former president of the Tarpon Chamber and Rotary and famous nature photographer, who passed away suddenly during the summer.

In preparation for the event, former TSAA President Trish Gregory, who took on the role of publicizing the event in the wake of Thomas’ death, said of her long-time friend date: “Sue was our advertising president, and I was the co-chair, but she was the public relations expert. She’s done so much. His death was such a great loss.

Gregory, an accomplished photographer, also won an award, taking first place in the photography category for his colorful portrayal of Sponge Docks at dusk.

Complete list of prizes and winners:

Quickly draw:

First: Kim Shield; HM: Angel Mercado, Ed Barker, Kathy Detrano, Shari Gaines

Commemorative awards:

Petera Semple: Jana Withers

Lee Albion: Lionel Sanchez

Sue Thomas: Peggy McCardel

Friends of Brooker Creek (Sponsored by Eddie and Barbara Hoffman)

Painting: Sue McCubbin

Photo: Sally Fuller

Heather Risley Audience Award (Voted by guests and artists)

Downtown Tarpon Springs, Frank Hipp. Sponsored by the Tarpon Springs Art Guild


First: Trish Gregory; Second: Stephen Levin; Third: Amy Fitzgerald; HM: Peggy McCardle, Amy Regenstein, Donovan Regenstein,


First: Kathy Detrano; Second: Tammy Dickerson; Third: Kathy Cappadona Jenkins; HM: Kim Shields, Jana Withers, M’rissa Rosenthal, Angel Mercado, Shari Gaines, Steve Benevides

People’s choice: Heather Risley Award

Steve benevides